Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 10/8/2005 5:21:06 PM EDT
I just bought a Bushy XM15-E2S. It has the carry handle permanently attached. I would like to replace that reciever with a flat top. Is it a pretty simple swap? Is there anything I need to know? I would also like to switch out the hbar barrel for one with a threaded end so I can install a flash hider. Any recommendations on this swap? Last question guys, is this a decent weapon? Thanks for your patience, I am new to AR's.
John
http://www.tapeinos.com/JOHNS/GUNS/images/P1010020.jpg
Link Posted: 10/8/2005 5:43:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Your rifle is sorta like mine before I modified it(mine had a fixed stock).  As far as replacing the upper yourself, I say since you want to replace the barrel also just get a new complete upper.  Although AR's are known for thier simplicity in building, I would recomend you bypass the tooling etc unless you plan on building a few.  If you want to replace the entire upper with a flat top, its as simple as popping out the takedown and pivot pins and replacing the upper(Im sure you can offset some of the price of your new upper by selling the old one here on the EE).  Bushmaster is considered one of the top tier weapons with colt, rock river arms, and others, so rest assured that your weapon should give you years of great service with propper maintenance and cleaning.
Link Posted: 10/9/2005 10:19:39 AM EDT
[#2]
I had the same situation and found that I didn't like the scope mounted so high, even with a cheekpiece.  I just sent my upper to Bushmaster and purcased the stripped down A3 frame.  They are switching it out for me.  The frame cost around $140 and the return shipping was $16.50.  So it was cheaper than buying the tools to do the job.
Link Posted: 10/10/2005 5:58:27 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted: