Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/18/2005 1:00:11 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster Dissy.  I would like to install a LaRue 12.0 forend.  Any issues with the carbine length gas block?  Can I follow the instructions in the tacked thread above?

Thanks
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 1:20:11 PM EDT
[#1]
The tube will not clear your present gas block.  It would have to be replaced with the LaRue low profile gas block.  The back of the LaRue tube has an opening that only the LaRue gas block fits through.  Anything bigger won't fit.
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 1:20:53 PM EDT
[#2]
DT.
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 3:10:27 PM EDT
[#3]
Thanks.

I have not purchased the LaRue yet.  Is there a forend option that does not require a gas block change?

Mark
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 4:39:41 PM EDT
[#4]
Mongo- why can't he use a LaRue 12.0?  How big is that gas block on a dissy?  Couldn't he grind off the squarish shoulders up top so it's just as narrow as the gas tube and be ok?  it's basically an A2 gas block cut off right above the gas tube, right?  if it's just the extra width, i'm sure a dremel could take that off quick enough...

Link Posted: 8/18/2005 7:08:51 PM EDT
[#5]

Quoted:
Mongo- why can't he use a LaRue 12.0?  How big is that gas block on a dissy?  Couldn't he grind off the squarish shoulders up top so it's just as narrow as the gas tube and be ok?  it's basically an A2 gas block cut off right above the gas tube, right?  if it's just the extra width, i'm sure a dremel could take that off quick enough...

Like I said, the opening on the rear of the LaRue is shaped such that the only gas block it will slip over is the LaRue low profile.  There are pics floating around somewhere, but I don't have them.
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 10:11:16 PM EDT
[#6]
how about the SAMSON ? might be easier for you.
Link Posted: 8/19/2005 8:32:33 AM EDT
[#7]