BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Arrow Left Previous Page
Page / 2
Posted: 6/21/2005 1:31:10 PM EDT
I have been pounding away on a Bushy FSB for the last 20 minutes with no luck.  I even have the fancy dancy Brownells FSB block that holds it perfect.  These freaking things will not budge.  What are some tricks as this is my first attempt at this.
Link Posted: 6/21/2005 1:48:23 PM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 6/21/2005 2:00:51 PM EDT
[#2]
What are you using for a punch? I use a Stanley 3/32" nail set, as the concave end fits the rounded head of the taper pins perfectly. You might try soaking the pins with Kroil and letting it sit overnight.
Link Posted: 6/21/2005 2:04:05 PM EDT
[#3]
Best way is a hydraulic shop press if you have access to one.

Link Posted: 6/21/2005 2:25:55 PM EDT
[#4]
Before the Brownell's blocks, I would just cast a hard lead (Linotype or Lyman's #2) block under the FSB and then drill out the pin holes to allow passage.  It has a much higher modulus than the plastic block and gives a harder hit.

The pins are HARD and convex, making a hard hit difficult.  Putting the whole thing on a strong, concrete floor will give a harder hit.

I have an automatic center punch with a concave head from all the FSB work.  It gives hard hits easily although it takes a bunch of them (10-20 hits) to budge the pins.
Link Posted: 6/21/2005 2:39:02 PM EDT
[#5]
HIT IT HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WITH A BIG A$$ HAMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Link Posted: 6/21/2005 3:18:15 PM EDT
[#6]
I went through this last week.  Thankfully I was replacing the gas block and the front sight so I used a dremel tool.  With the proper cross cuts close to the barrel, 2 whacks with a 3lb hammer and it came right off.

Link Posted: 6/21/2005 4:35:49 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:
HIT IT HARD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

WITH A BIG A$$ HAMMER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What he said !!!
Link Posted: 6/21/2005 6:04:46 PM EDT
[#8]