Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/10/2005 11:14:47 AM EDT
I have a Bushmaster 20" A2 profiled "postban" barrel that is rotting on my shelf.

You folks with 18" and 17" barrels, are you using an unaltered rifle-length gas system?

Thanks in advance,
Jim
Link Posted: 1/10/2005 11:32:00 AM EDT
[#1]
I have an 18 with unaltered gas system, with a bigger port and recoil spring mods you can cut it to 16".
Link Posted: 1/10/2005 11:56:50 AM EDT
[#2]
Combat_Jack,

Thanks for your reply.

I asked one of the most highly regarded vendors/smiths on ar15.com and their response was that they are reluctant to do a 16" conversion.  

The barrel is in great condition and is nearly virgin.  I would like to do a "dissy" build or at the very most go 17".  If 18" is what's needed to get the gun to work reliably, I wouldn't mind going 18" as well.

Are you running your 18" rifle-length unit with any sort of recoil spring "mods"?

-Jim
Link Posted: 1/10/2005 11:58:18 AM EDT
[#3]
I haven't fired my 18 yet, but about a dozen or so guys here, at least, have used 18s without any mods at all.

Olympic Arms' smiths wouldn't cut the barrel down to 16 for me, they said it was was iffy.
Link Posted: 1/10/2005 6:23:20 PM EDT
[#4]
my 18 is running 100% with a stock RRA  M4 buffer. Gas port is stock,AFAIK
Barrel was cut and contoured by ADCO
Link Posted: 1/11/2005 6:14:38 AM EDT
[#5]
I have a FNMI 5.56 NATO 1/7 that I had KKF cut to 18" with no gas system mods.  I run it with a carbine buffer in a M93A stock and use an RRA bolt group.

I tried it once with a rifle buffer system when it was sorta newish, 350 or so rounds without being cleaned.  The 45 grain Winchester varmint stuff from wally world was starting to get sluggish, like it was barely making it back the full stroke.  All the 55 grain FMJ commercial stuff was still running fine.