Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/22/2003 12:33:26 PM EDT
Greetings and Merry Christmas,  It was just suggested to me that one way I may be able to shoot tighter groups (sub 1/4 moa)when I feel that my gas port is too big (.101 on a bull 24" ss Lothar Walther 1:8 twist )is to invest in and 'adjustable gas tube'.  I have tried all weights of ammo, 75gr shoots best and 69 just a little less favorable.  Problen is that out of every three shots there is at least one flyer stretching the group.  I've has 4 people shoot the rifle, same experience, so I feel vindicated that is not operator trouble.  Being a newbie, I'd like to know more about these adjustable tubes.  Any infoprmation would be greatly appreciated. Thank you, Gus
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 1:20:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Adjustable gas tube -- did the person suggesting this elaborate on how this will help tighten groups? I have seen adjustable gas blocks for sale. They apparently use a regulating screw that restricts the flow from the block to the tube. Don't recall seeing any claims for improved accuracy from them, tho. I think that about .100 is the port size used on most AR's. Being able to adjust or cut the gas flow has it's uses, such as when hot reloads put out too much gas too soon,and the bolt tries to open before the pressure has dropped to operating level, sometimes causing the extractor to tear the case rim .      
Link Posted: 12/22/2003 3:35:01 PM EDT
[#2]