Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 5/25/2003 4:49:11 PM EDT
I buddy of mine just saw my completed BM M4 and now wants to build one for himself..However, he is extremely cheap!!! He saw an ad in SGN for Model 1 and wants to use their parts.. I have no experience with Model 1 and want to know about them. Are the uppers OK if mated to a good lower (Colt, BM, Panther Arms, ect..) or should he steer clear of them altogether. I told him he will get what he pays for, but he is insisting in doing this project at rock-bottom prices! HELP!!
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 5:34:38 PM EDT
[#1]
Go J&T distributing.  It's a LITTLE more expensive than Model 1, but you get a LOT more when you pay it.

'nuff said.

Panz
[bounce]
Link Posted: 5/25/2003 7:34:27 PM EDT
[#2]
I've built a few AR's with Model 1 kits (internals, stocks, and complete uppers).  Never had any trouble with them.  I've got a couple Model 1 uppers that I use on my M16 also.  They make good equipment, and I plan on building my next AR with another Model 1 kit.
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 6:42:38 AM EDT
[#3]
Model 1 comes to all the local gunshows in Indianapolis. I have built a few guns on their kits. Most of them go without a hitch but every once in a while you have to swap out fire control parts to get everything just right. They are really good about taking care of you when this happens but it's a hassle if you have to deal through the mail.
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 6:59:05 AM EDT
[#4]
I built a Model 1 kit on Eagle arms lower.  Required minor tinkering (pivot pin detent & safety selector)during assembly.  I've put about 500 rounds through it now.  Works great shoots straight.

That being said, there have been quite a few customer service problems posted in this forum when the wrong parts or defective parts arrive by UPS.

[url=users.zoominternet.net/~pcfitz]P.I.G.S.[/url]
Link Posted: 5/26/2003 8:15:04 AM EDT
[#5]