Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/18/2002 9:32:03 PM EDT
I am going to build my own and was thinking of buying two stripped lowers. One forged and the other cast. The cast of course would be the plinker, but I don't know much about cast and wondered if it is not worth just the 30-40 dollars more for a forged? Opinions and experiences would be appreciated.
Link Posted: 10/18/2002 11:01:09 PM EDT
[#1]
I know an employee of Oly Arms who says that cast break all the time when they are broaching the mag wells.  This isn't a good indication.  I have no personal experience with these lowers.
Link Posted: 10/18/2002 11:30:22 PM EDT
[#2]
I'm sure you'll now get to hear all sorts of horror stories about castings.  Since the recoil isn't directed into the lower, it's not much of an issue.  Now for a serious SHTF/Tac rifle type, I'd get a forged lower, just in case.  But for plinking, etc., shouldn't be an issue.  
Link Posted: 10/19/2002 8:30:29 PM EDT
[#3]

I HAVE A CAST AR15 LOWER ON MY 50 CAL BMG,SEE MY WEB PAGE UNDER GUNS. IT HOLDS UP WITH  NO CRACKS OR ANYTHING THE GUN WEIGHT IS 46 LBS, ( NOTE I ALSO SELL THE 80% CAST ALUMINUM LOWERS ) AND THE MAG WELL'S ARE PRECASTED IN, NOT BROACHED( THEY MIGHT BE BROACHED AFTER THE FACT TO CLEAN THEM UP AND TO MAKE THEM TO SPEC
(ALSO A WELL KNOWN MFG DID A STRESS TEST ON A 356 T6 CAST ALUMINUM AND IT PULLED APART AT 46,000 PSI) THAT IS PRETTY STRONG
( I HAVE SOLD OVER 10,000 80% CASTINGS AND HAVE HAD NO ONE SEND ME ANY BACK THAT  WERE BROKE FROM "NORMAL USE"( IF IT WAS CRACKED IT WAS A CASTING FLAW AND NOT OPERATOR FAILURE OR MISUSE OF A FIREARM

JUST MY .02 WORTH

WILLIAM
Page AR-15 » Build It Yourself
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Close Join Our Mail List to Stay Up To Date! Win a FREE Membership!

Sign up for the ARFCOM weekly newsletter and be entered to win a free ARFCOM membership. One new winner* is announced every week!