Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Lights and Lasers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/3/2003 6:07:30 PM EDT
OK, recently I posted about not being able to install my M510AB on my 20" A2. Talked a bunch with my dealer and directly with SF and found that the M511AB is the light I need, not the 510AB. How I ended up with the wrong light is a long story and SF's fault, but I won't get into that. Unfortunately, SF is not currently making any 511AB's so I'm back to square one and really need help.

Here is the ultimate question: If you could put ANY surefire on a 20" A2 which one would it be and why? I'm open to rail mounted, dedicated forend, anything, I just need to find the right light. I'm a patrol cop and I'm working in the dark with no light on my AR, a situation that I've been trying to change since June, with no luck.

As a side note, would (or have) any of you put a 900 series vertical foregrip light on an A2?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!
Link Posted: 10/3/2003 6:25:56 PM EDT
[#1]
Go with the AR Universal Weapons light, fits on any AR with a Front sight post.
Link Posted: 10/3/2003 6:26:00 PM EDT
[#2]
Look at the 962 or 972SU models.

You can bolt a piece of Picatinny rail from Falcon or others to your handguards and attach the light.  If you want a more robust system, an M5 RAS makes a great mounting platform.

Never thought of an M900 on a 20", but if you like a vertical foregrip, it might work for you.  A couple of pictures of a 972 and an M900 AB  [url=http://www.ar15.com/forums/topic.html?b=3&f=12&t=170004&page=2&w=myTopicPop]here[/url]
Link Posted: 10/3/2003 7:25:28 PM EDT
[#3]
Even on my carbine I get a large shadow from the barrel with my M900.  I would immagine it would be worse with a longer forearm and barrel.  Never tried it though.  
Link Posted: 10/3/2003 7:44:16 PM EDT
[#4]
Quoted: