Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Slings and Other Accessories
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/6/2004 10:57:34 AM EDT
I want to get one of the after-market charging handle release lever extensions to replace the stock one that came on my Armalite .223 carbine because it is sort of difficult to get fingers on the charging handle after mounting my scope.  It is a flat top AR.  I have the scope mounted fairly low.

I see that the release lever is held in by a round brad pin, but in order to get this pin out, it looks like it is necessary to remove the charging handle from the gun in order to tap it out of the handle.

How is the charging handle remove from the gun ?  Can it be remove when the upper is remove from the lower or is there more disassembly that is required ?

Also, I notice that there is a good bit of up & down/vertical play in the charging handle on this gun.  Is this normal on this type of gun ?  I am new to this AR thing.  I have many firearms but this is the first AR that I have owned.

Thanks.
Link Posted: 9/6/2004 11:00:33 AM EDT
[#1]
pivot the upper (tip it foward...) or remove it from the lower.  pull charging handle to back, remove bolt carrier & bolt.  handle should drop down (or up, if you're holding the upper upside down)

I'd strongly suggest reading in the "information" section of the site -- I believe there is a link to the army's field manual which describes things like this.

ETA:  There's LOTS of good stuff there
the field manual
Link Posted: 9/15/2004 8:11:41 AM EDT
[#2]
not to be an ass...........but do you ever clean your rifle and if so I suppose you never get the crud from above the CH....good luck to ya'
Link Posted: 9/15/2004 8:29:51 AM EDT
[#3]
WTF? Over.
Link Posted: 9/15/2004 9:51:58 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
How is the charging handle remove from the gun ?  Can it be remove when the upper is remove from the lower or is there more disassembly that is required ?

Thanks.