Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/29/2015 4:54:21 PM EDT
I took my Colt 6940 out to the range finally where I can shoot 100 yards. I did shoot it at 50 yards with the iron sights and did pretty good getting mostly the bull and #9 ring, for the first time. Now I want to get a scope for 100 yards and see what I am shooting at. I narrowed it down to a Leolpold Vx-2 3-9x40 with the mark 1 IMS base.
My head is spinning from looking at all available scopes. I am relatively new to ARs and scopes but very good with my pistols. Am I on the right track?
Link Posted: 4/29/2015 9:45:41 PM EDT
[#1]
84 reads and no one has an opinion?
Link Posted: 4/30/2015 2:04:46 AM EDT
[#2]
I have that scope and love it. And can't go wrong with leupold
Link Posted: 4/30/2015 2:34:52 AM EDT
[#3]
What are you trying to do with this rifle/scope? What range? What light conditions? What level of accuracy? Potential moving targets (hunting for example) or just static target shooting?

What is your budget? The optics market is extremely competitive, and the quality of the optic is usually on par with the price if properly matched for use.

The VX2 3-9X40 with 1" tube is Leupolds version of what is probably the most common scope in America the last 40 years. Leupold is a great company with a great warrantee. Though I do not own this model, I do own three Leupold scopes, a range finder and spotting scope that are all Leupold. While the VX-2 is one of the lower end models, I'm confident it is adequate or better for 90% of shooters 99% of the time.

The thing I would be concerned about as a hunter or shooter is how well it performs in low light conditions. I would try to have a look at one in the evening before I bought. There are local stores here that have let me do this, walk outside and look around just after sunset.