Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/23/2009 2:02:49 PM EDT

This is my first build and all i need is an optic and mount. I am pretty new to ar's but appreaciate the learning process.

I see there are tons of choices when it comes to optics and i want to narrow down the field.

My question,

I am running a 16" SS barrel from WOA/ FF DD lite rail...Spikes flat top upper. I want to get an optic that will allow the ability to use this rifle for distance tagert shooting (i know it is only a 16") So, what optic range should i be looking at that is good for distance shooting with a 16" barrel, i.e. If im going to loose accuracy after so many meters, I dont "need" the same scope that someone with a 24" barrel "needs" ..BUT, I do want the ability to take advantage of every ounce of accuracy that my gun is capable of.  Is a 3-9 enough?

2nd question

I was watching a the sniper challange last weekend at Creekside in Ga. I guess they were shooting out to 600-700 meters. Is there any chance a 16" barrel is capable of doing that with any sort of accuracy? If so, what optic range do you think those guys were running ??

thanks in advance for opinions and advice.

Link Posted: 4/23/2009 4:34:31 PM EDT
[#1]
For your purposes I'd recommend a scope in the 1-4 or 3-9 range, depending on what you like.There are many good choices in either range.My rec would be the Burris XTR in 1-4, or the Leupold mark series in 3-9 ( they just came out).
Barrel length has nothing to do with accuracy, only affects velocity which gives you more options as far as distance.Yes, you can make 700 yd hits with a 16" barrel, but you're not gonna do more then make holes in paper....
Link Posted: 4/23/2009 4:38:17 PM EDT
[#2]
Would a 3-9 scope be enough for the 700yrd shots?
ETT-

I read in different threads that people have a hard time making out the target with scopes in the 309 range.