Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/27/2009 4:14:31 PM EDT
Okay experts, a quick question for you.

First, let me thank all the members here for helping me pick an optic. I am a Gang Officer for a major SoCal metro PD and decided on an ACOG TA33 R-8 on a Larue QD micro mount attached to my Colt 6920 patrol rifle. I appreciate  all the input you all had in my decision, I love the optic.

So, today my brother was taking a look at the rig and flipped the QD latch which caused the optic and mount to fall off the weapon and hit the deck, about 3 feet onto concrete. Optic bounced a bit, then settled. No apparent damage to the optic other than a very small ding and a small dent on the corner of the mount. Doesn't appear the reticle was effected and no blurs of lost focus looking through the optic.

I know these optics are built for combat and get banged up durring the course of duty, but figured it wouldn't hurt to run it by the expert collective here. What say you, any risk of damage or lost zero? Should I be concerned at all? Probably a dumb question but am looking for a more educated opinion than my own.

Thanks for the time.

Regards,

LABlackRifle
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 4:26:22 PM EDT
[#1]
should be fine, they can take a beating. i had an accupoint on a sr25 fall about 6 feet, gun and all landing on the scope to cermanic tile, nothing was wrong.
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 4:31:17 PM EDT
[#2]
you mostlikly fixed it ,i could not get a steady zero util i droped mine at the range now priceless...
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 4:33:56 PM EDT
[#3]
I like it.
Link Posted: 3/27/2009 5:02:58 PM EDT
[#4]
read the manual, they have tested the design by putting it on a carry handle mount on a full Ar and drop it form 6 ft on to concrete......
It bent the carry handle, Acog no damage other than a scratch.  
They are tough, if you can hurt an Acog you will break something else.