Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/9/2007 8:32:05 AM EDT

I'm not a patent lawyer, but could there be potential for trouble here?  
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 8:39:48 AM EDT
[#1]
mmmmm!!!  PRI should call SAMSOM MFG. and ask them what can happen when you pissed off TROY industries
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 8:41:11 AM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
mmmmm!!!  PRI should call SAMSOM MFG. and ask them what can happen when you pissed off TROY industries

I was thinking the same thing.  
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 8:43:10 AM EDT
[#3]
Nah....I see enough difference to so ...no.
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 8:53:32 AM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:

I'm thinking specifically the apertures and lock mechanism.  They're identical.
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 8:54:59 AM EDT
[#5]
Come on.  It's obvious that the mounting screw is on the left on the Troy, and on the right on the PRI.

But seriously, I think there's enough difference that the only ones who would make out OK on an infringement suit would be the lawyers.
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 8:58:53 AM EDT
[#6]
You guys do know that the Troy flip-up sights use basically the same locking mechanism as the PRI gas block/front sight which has been around much longer, right?  That's why their locking device looks almost identical.

Seriously, theres only so many ways to design a flip-up sight so there's bound to be many similarities between the sights from different manufacturers.  
Link Posted: 10/9/2007 9:02:22 AM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:
You guys do know that the Troy flip-up sights use basically the same locking mechanism as the PRI gas block/front sight which has been around much longer, right?  That's why their locking device looks almost identical.

Seriously, theres only so many ways to design a flip-up sight so there's bound to be many similarities between the sights from different manufacturers.