Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/14/2006 9:56:25 AM EDT
So, I bought an Aimpoint cantilever mount from Troy Industries and there are 2 things I don't like about it:

1) I think it is in serious need of lapping, but this is a minor issue;

2) The guys who designed it took every last millmeter of space on the Aimpoint tube. The ring covers from the battery cover to the bell housing where the objective starts. It is a really tight fit that obstructs the battery compartment and requires the rubber thing to be pushed out of the way to create room for the ring. The ring could be redesigned to remove 1/16" from both ends (1/8" overall) to give some relief. If this ring were any longer front-to-back it would start to ride up the bell housing and gouge the exterior. Hey, I'm just a dumb engineer, but I think I would have accounted for this.

Troy Industries says that it is acceptible because the battery doesn't need to be changed often.

Now that I have learned about an Aimpoint mount firsthand, can you tell me if the LaRue is a mofo tight fit on the tube, and is the Aimpoint's battery compartment completely blocked? How about KAC or PRI?

What a way to learn....

Link Posted: 3/15/2006 9:17:14 PM EDT
[#1]
Actually, it looks to me like you could rotate the Aimpoint around like it is supposed to be positioned, and the cap would clear the mount.

The elevation adjustment should be pointing straight up, not canted to the side as it appears to be in the photos.
Link Posted: 3/15/2006 9:24:10 PM EDT
[#2]
Hmmmm. I think you are right. I've been into guns for a while, but I can't believe I may have botched this mount. I think I used the freakin' lens caps as my baseline. DOH! Let me correct that situation and I'll get back.

EDIT: Thanks man. I really AM a dumb engineer. Problem corrected...and props to Troy Industries.
Link Posted: 3/16/2006 7:28:55 AM EDT
[#3]