Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/17/2006 8:02:00 AM EDT
I am new to the board and new to AR-15's.  I am currently in the process of buying a Rock River Arms Elite Car A4 and have a question regarding EOTech sights.  My question is does the EOTech magnify the target?  If so, can it be used effectively at distances of 50 - 100 yards?
Link Posted: 1/17/2006 8:11:26 AM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
My question is does the EOTech magnify the target?

No, not the EO Tech itself.

If so, can it be used effectively at distances of 50 - 100 yards?
That depends upon the shooter but the unit itself is very effective in that range and beyond. Again, that's shooter dependant.
Link Posted: 1/17/2006 11:09:20 AM EDT
[#2]
I just installed my EOTech 512 and shot with it for the first time yesterday.  I'm new to shooting ARs and still have trouble being consistent with iron sights.  I spent several hours yesterday fine tuning my zeroes with irons and the EOTech.  In the end, I managed best groups of 2" at 50 yds and 3.5" at 100 yds using irons.  Then I turned on the EOTech and shot a 2.5" group at 100 yds and a 1" group (all 3 shots in the bullseye) at 50 yds.  I was also able to acquire my target and fire the rounds faster using the EOTech than with the irons.  I would NEVER depend on the EOTech in lieu of irons; but if you're comfortable in your ability to shoot with irons, the EOTech sure is a nice addition.
Link Posted: 1/17/2006 12:43:50 PM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
 My question is does the EOTech magnify the target?

No (at least not the current models - stay tuned for the new model with the optional 3x magnifier)

If so, can it be used effectively at distances of 50 - 100 yards?

I've used mine on steel plates out to 300y, 50-100y is a cakewalk for this sight.
Link Posted: 1/17/2006 1:06:40 PM EDT
[#4]
Ok, thanks for the posts.  I think an EOtech is in my future.