Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/27/2005 6:07:45 AM EDT
My apologies if this is a really obvious question, but I'm pretty new to the world of ARs and I can't seem to get a concrete answer to this one:

If one were to zero an A3-style rifle at a middle distance (say 50 or 100 yards), then later tighten the mounting knobs on the carry handle a little more, would the zero change?  The knobs were snug to start with, but you gave them an extra tweak.

Would the same hold true for an optic like an EOTech?

Finally, each time you change sight systems, do you hav to re-zero the rifle?  How critical is getting the torque the same when re-installing the sight?

Thanks for any info.
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 6:17:48 AM EDT
[#1]
Within the context of "torque", IMO unless the thing was falling off loose, NO, any POI change will be negligible.

Mike

ps - although I sold my EO for another Aimpoint, mine was always quite close to it's original zeroing providing I got it back exactly where it was on the flat-top and again torque was not an issue
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 8:58:49 AM EDT
[#2]
I'm going to disagree with Mr Wilson.  Yes it will change POI, I've seen this a number of times (mostly on cheap mounts).

The one High-End thumbscrew mount I have (the QRP) it has a built in torque limiter so the screws are always tighted the same.  They did this to keep the tension (and POI) consistant.
Link Posted: 9/27/2005 10:50:15 AM EDT
[#3]
It's funny - for every "no it won't " answer, I seem to get a "yes it will."  The mounts in question are the A3 carry handle on a Bushmaster and an EOTech 512, so I'd say the quality is pretty good (thinking about Forest's comment).