Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/29/2004 3:54:50 PM EDT
I want to be able to look down a 100-200 yd range and see where my holes r hitting.  

Now it seems that the prices r similar....should i just get a rifle mounted scope instead?

Also what should i look out for in a goo dmed range scope.  Whats the optimal mag/objective etc etc i should get?  Which aspect of a good scope is most important?  (im a scope newbie if you cant tell)  THANKS!
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 4:11:32 PM EDT
[#1]
Seems to me that a good variable power scope can second as a spotting scope. Why sink $ into a spotting scope when you can have both in one package. That's what I do  and it works well especially at the distances you described.
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 4:13:41 PM EDT
[#2]
If you want the scope for looking at holes in the target, get a spotting scope, not a telescopic sight.  You should never pick up a rifle and point it at something to determine what it is.  

A telescopic rifle sight is for aiming the weapon not for observation.  Only after you know what it is and want to shoot at it should you pick up the rifle to look through the scope.
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 5:39:35 PM EDT
[#3]
Learn about the effects of having a lot of power with a small objective lens i.e. target scope. You want the spotting scope for its large objective. Look up the term "exit pupil" and learn more about this.
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 5:40:59 PM EDT
[#4]
All together now...

"A RIFLE scope is not a SPOTTING scope"

Again... with FEELING!!!
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 6:26:15 PM EDT
[#5]
I agree, a good spotting scope is an essential range tool.
Plus when I'm shooting old milsurps with irons, or AR15's with irons, that spotting scope comes in real handy!
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 6:41:45 PM EDT
[#6]
Link Posted: 10/29/2004 6:49:28 PM EDT
[#7]