Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Optics, Mounts, and Sights
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/9/2003 9:55:56 PM EDT

I'm in the process of building a flat top ar and plan to add optics in the very distant future as funds become available.  Anyone have any opinions on what the best rear sight would be in the mean time?  I'm looking at:

1.Getting a carry handle and chopping it down once I get optics for a backup rear sight, although am not sure how stable this would be.

2. Buying an ARMS #40, however I'm not sure how durable this sight is and if it would work well/hold up well as a dedicated rear sight for and extended time.(as long as a year...does it hold a zero well?)

3.  Buying the "Bushmaster Modular Accessories System AR Flat Top Rear Sight", however I have no experience with this sight and have not read a bad or good thing about it anywhere.

Any options I missed or any advice would be greatly appreciated.  

Thanks.
Link Posted: 9/9/2003 11:35:09 PM EDT
[#1]
Go with the ARMS #40. It's durable enough to last as long as you need it to, and will fold down out of the way, once you get your optic.
Link Posted: 9/9/2003 11:54:11 PM EDT
[#2]
ARMS 40 is so far and above the BM sight they arent even in the same league.

Cut a carry handle if you plan on using a dot type optic, but it will prevent you from using magnified optics like the ACOG in the future, and you'll end up buying a flip up BUIS anyway if you go that route.
Link Posted: 9/10/2003 12:37:14 AM EDT
[#3]
Agreed, the Bushy BUIS is not worthy to be in the same room as the ARMS #40.  I would get the #40, but if you are hardcore, and want to go the chopped C/H route, you might want to consider the LMT sight.
[IMG]http://photos.ar15.com/ImageGallery/IG_LoadImage.asp?iImageUnq=7713[/IMG]
Link Posted: 9/15/2003 2:45:59 PM EDT
[#4]
My $.02-

ARMS#40 definately best bet.

Nice new pic lumpy!
Link Posted: 9/15/2003 3:11:28 PM EDT
[#5]