Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Magazines
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/10/2005 10:08:05 AM EDT
I have a fairly new Bushmaster and I read that Orlite mags will not fit Bushmasters. Is this true? If so, why not?

The Orlite mags are cheap and readily available and I'd like to use them.
Link Posted: 8/10/2005 10:10:09 AM EDT
[#1]
Link Posted: 8/10/2005 12:03:14 PM EDT
[#2]
I wouldn't waste my time with Orlites...utter trash. You should be able to find even used USGI for fairly cheap.
Link Posted: 8/10/2005 12:09:12 PM EDT
[#3]
they will, i have like 6 of them i picked up for like 5 bucks a pop and they work well for me. granted im not some spec ops , navy seal cop that needs exactly what the army uses.  I leave them in a box in the back of my truck fully loaded tell i need them and ive yet to  have a problem. For ranch use, shooting yotes, rabbits and the range they are awsome.
Link Posted: 8/11/2005 11:00:48 AM EDT
[#4]
Just use a motor tool or sand down the rigde that runs on both sides. They work great in my bushmasters and colts. I like the fact that you stand on them and not bend the feed lips or bodies.
Link Posted: 8/11/2005 11:02:18 AM EDT
[#5]
Good for photo ops, that's about it.

feed lips and floorplate guides cracked after 500 rounds on mine, they found the trash can quickly.

ETA  - The IDF has completely retired them - that should tell you something.
Link Posted: 8/11/2005 11:04:22 AM EDT
[#6]
I've never had any trouble with Orlite's.  They wont fit your bushmaster though.
Link Posted: 8/11/2005 11:39:54 AM EDT
[#7]
They make decent range mags if you can get them in good condition at a good price.  I wouldnt pay more than half the going rate for a USGI mag, and even then I would be hesitant.  I have a few from the ban days that I never use anymore.
Link Posted: 8/11/2005 12:25:21 PM EDT
[#8]
Weren't Orlites designed to be one use, throw away mags?
Link Posted: 8/11/2005 1:14:24 PM EDT