Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/15/2008 3:46:36 AM EDT
I was wondering why federal's military ammo like XM193 ball or XM856 tracer has the "XM" prefix instead of the normal "M" prefix that adopted military ammo has. I thought they were the same rounds.
Link Posted: 10/15/2008 4:27:03 AM EDT
[#1]
I'm not an expert, but I think it's because they are LOTS rejected by the military so to avoid confusion they use an X prefix.  It's still M193 or M885 but it's just rounds rejected by the military due to dents in cases or sealant problems.  It's still very good stuff though.
Link Posted: 10/15/2008 7:40:58 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 10/15/2008 9:33:56 AM EDT
[#3]

Quoted:
No idea. It's commercial ammo, so Federal can call it anything they want. <shrug>

You sir owe me a keyboard and a new cup of coffee.
Link Posted: 10/15/2008 2:19:50 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
I'm not an expert, but I think it's because they are LOTS rejected by the military so to avoid confusion they use an X prefix.  It's still M193 or M885 but it's just rounds rejected by the military due to dents in cases or sealant problems.  It's still very good stuff though.

From what I gather, this is pretty much what it seems the explanation is.
Link Posted: 10/15/2008 3:06:20 PM EDT
[#5]
Quoted from TGZ conversation with ATK.

TGZ: Please explain the nomenclature (i.e., the "XM" prefix and the "PD" suffix), and also explain how XM193, XM855-PD, XM118LR-PD and similar Lake City / ATK ammunition differs from milspec (i.e., M193, M855, M118LR) ammunition, so we may present the correct information to our readers.

ATK: We've had several questions regarding the XM designation and following is our official statement regarding what the product is.