Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 3/26/2006 1:54:58 PM EDT
I'm one of those guys that just can't make a decision on ammo and I'm also a AR newb.  I've only fired WWB from Wal*mart and some of that filthy polymer coated Wolf ammo that tends to gunk up my AR.  I'd like to buy some in bulk but can't make up my mind.

Here's what I'm looking for.  

1) 1000-2000 rounds for plinking.  I live very close to AIM and thought about some of the .223 they have in stock.  Figured I could inspect onsite before I took it home since some people have quality issues with their ammo.

2) Then I'd like 500-1000 rounds of something for defense/SHTF.

If you have any suggestions that would be great!  Otherwise I will keep adding ammo to shopping carts on various sites never having the ability to click the checkout button.  ;)

-Kid
Link Posted: 3/26/2006 2:00:24 PM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
I'm one of those guys that just can't make a decision on ammo and I'm also a AR newb.  I've only fired WWB from Wal*mart and some of that filthy polymer coated Wolf ammo that tends to gunk up my AR.  I'd like to buy some in bulk but can't make up my mind.

1) 1000-2000 rounds for plinking.  I live very close to AIM and thought about some of the .223 they have in stock.  Figured I could inspect onsite before I took it home since some people have quality issues with their ammo.

If you have any suggestions that would be great!  Otherwise I will keep adding ammo to shopping carts on various sites never having the ability to click the checkout button.  ;)

-Kid

buy XM193 or Q3131/Q3131A and you won't have to differentiate between plinking and bulk SHTF ammo.  You'll also be zeroed on both, and will be assured of the reliability of your defense ammo.

You can always keep one or two mags loaded with better performing, but much costlier ammo, for your initial defense rounds.
Link Posted: 3/26/2006 2:02:22 PM EDT