Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 12/28/2005 4:45:43 PM EDT
okay, so I've been trying to determine which ammo is right for me.  I picked four that I thought I was trying to choose from due to the reviews of members here.  Here is what I narrowed it down to:

1)  710 responses (94.2% /  4.4% /  1.4%)  FEDERAL/LC XM193
2)  447 responses (93.5% /  4.7% /  1.8%)  WINCHESTER .223CAL
4)  495 responses (92.5% /  3.4% /  4.1%)  WINCHESTER Q3131A / IMI M193
14) 1052 responses (79.6% / 10.6% /  9.9%)  WOLF (Polymer Coating)

I went to all of these manufacturers websites and I can't seem to figure our which model is which.  For instance...I looked at the Federal site looking for the FEDERAL/LC XM193.  It doesn't even show up on the site.  is there something that I need to do to determine which is which?  Please let me know.  I'm a complete NOOB at this.  Thx.
Link Posted: 12/28/2005 5:24:34 PM EDT
[#1]
Look here first... excellent guide! I check it every week...
ARFCOM Ammo Price List

XM193 is a bit dry now days as many vendors are sold out...
Widener's is the only one who has it as far as I know... see link above.

Winchester can be found many places... see link above.

Wolf is cheap and OK for most AR's. I don't run Wolf in my Colts...

You have a good list. buy some and go out and see what your RIFLE likes... that is more important than any opinion poll.

Rmpl
Link Posted: 12/28/2005 6:05:22 PM EDT
[#2]
+1 to the above.

Then go to www.ammoman.com and see what he has in stock, then buy a bunch!

The Federal 'American Eagle' 55gr FMJ is a great all purpose round.
Link Posted: 12/29/2005 10:51:03 AM EDT
[#3]
Of course, that's also all 55 grain bullet stuff.

THEN you can get anywhere from 40 to 77 grain bullets in different shapes and sizes.

It gets fun. =)