Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/9/2005 6:23:59 AM EDT
I am pretty new to the AR world.  I've been lurking in this forum for a while reading what people feed their guns.  What's the hype with so many people talking about it?  Do you use it for plinking, target, or varminting?  Walmart has some boxes of 40 for around $13.75.  I assume it's the same ammo everyone is talking about being that it's Winchester, and in a white box.  I picked up 100 rounds to shoot this weekend and see what it's all about.

Link Posted: 9/9/2005 6:28:55 AM EDT
[#1]
Welcome, Weasel.  In regards to AR ammo, I say that the first thing to do is to visit the ammo oracle.  You can do this at www.ammo-oracle.com.  The Oracle is the absolute best place to learn the basics of ammo.  Check it out, and report back to us.  Thanks, and welcome aboard.
Link Posted: 9/9/2005 6:33:31 AM EDT
[#2]
The ammo everyone refers to is not the same as what you bought - the ammo most people refer to costs $8 or so for 40 rounds, and had sealed primers. It's really hard to find nowadays.

Link Posted: 9/9/2005 7:49:35 AM EDT
[#3]
While we're on the subject of Winchester White box, I've been tracking the Winchester USA223R1, R3, R1A, etc., for the past year or so and haven't bothered posting it on the Ammo Price List because of the lack of availability.

The exception - Outdoor Marksman has 36 cases, 1000/case, of the Winchester USA223R1A, 55gr FMJ, Israeli manufacture, for $4.25/20, $199.95/1000 + shipping. Not mil-spec, no info on sealant or crimp.
Link Posted: 9/9/2005 1:04:09 PM EDT
[#4]

Quoted:
The ammo everyone refers to is not the same as what you bought - the ammo most people refer to costs $8 or so for 40 rounds, and had sealed primers. It's really hard to find nowadays.

Yeah the 3 walmarts in my area sold out of the 40 rd white box ammo back in May.  They haven't had UMC's in for at least 6 weeks.