Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 11/19/2003 4:59:06 PM EDT
Last minute decision...  I want to try my AR for deer hunting this year but Wisc doesn't allow FMJ for deer.  We're cheese heads, what can I say.  

About all that's available locally is Remington 55g SP (R223R1) or Winchester 55g Ballistic Silvertip  (SBST223B) and it's really expensive.

I'm  all sighted in with Fed XM193 & Q3131A which shoot pretty much the same in my BM 20" HBAR, 1/9 twist w/TA11 scope.

I have a day or two (minus work = a few hours)to make any changes and I'll obviously take some trial shots before hunting.  But can anyone offer any information about what to expect with the expanding commercial ammo vs Mil spec ammo at say up to 300yds.

Appreciate the feedback.
Link Posted: 11/19/2003 5:27:27 PM EDT
[#1]
WHAT A COINCIDENCE,  
This is my first year I'm going to use it also.  I have a colt 20" 1/7 twist.  But I've got mine zeroed for hornady 75 grainers.  The remington's are pretty accurate in mine but they definitely have a different point of impact than other loads.  If your shooting past 100 and even that's stretching it, I wouldn't do it.  If you had time to zero your rifle it would be good but and longer distances it'll be off almost for sure.  Every load in almost any gun hit's at different points.  Velocity, shape of bullet and weight all play a role.  I'd say if you knew it would be under 50 yards no problem.  

This is just my opinion.  What do you normally hunt with?  Are you using optics on your ar?

P.S.  Too bad they wont let us use fmj.  xm193 or q3131a would do the job real good I think.
Link Posted: 11/19/2003 6:24:17 PM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 11/19/2003 7:47:59 PM EDT
[#3]
If you roll your own, you can load up some Barnes X bullets. Excellent terminal  performance.
Link Posted: 11/19/2003 9:25:19 PM EDT
[#4]
I don't reload but maybe some time in the future.