Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 8/2/2003 2:39:46 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster & their catalog says 5.56 can be used. I've yet to find any here so what brand is recommended?

Also I'd like know of a good mailorder source for 223 or 5.56 tracer ammo. Is there tracer/incendiary ammo available? Url's would be much appreciated.

thanks!
Link Posted: 8/2/2003 4:16:16 PM EDT
[#1]
For M193, I would stick with Federal XM193 or Winchester Q3131A. The South African surplus is also pretty good and seems to meet M193 specs. It may not be available again until September though. Some good places to locate this ammo for good prices and with good service include:

[url]www.natchezss.com[/url]

[url]www.sportsmansguide.com[/url]

[url]www.ammoman.com[/url]

For the tracers, Ammoman and The Sportsman's Guide usually carry them also. Cheaper Than Dirt is another source who also regularly carries them, just watch out out for their shipping charges. They can be located at [url]www.cheaperthandirt.com[/url]. I hope this is helpful.

-Charging Handle
Link Posted: 8/3/2003 4:39:16 AM EDT
[#2]
I got tracers from ammoman.  His service can't be beat!
Link Posted: 8/3/2003 10:17:03 AM EDT
[#3]
Unless you shoot at targets beyond 100 meters you're unlikely to see the tracers.  The don't fully illuminate until down range at least 50 to 75 meters and by the time they strike a berm at short range you've only a microsecond to see 'em.

-- Chuck
Link Posted: 8/3/2003 4:53:29 PM EDT
[#4]
carefull with tracers. in the marine corps we were setting stuff on fire; tanks, grass, etc.
Link Posted: 8/4/2003 1:41:05 AM EDT
[#5]