Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Ammunition
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 6/24/2003 11:06:21 AM EDT
I'm still learning much in the area of ballistics so please pardon me if this is a stupid question.

Let's say I want to know the fragmentiation limits of the 77 gr w/cannelure Nosler.  I put the velo chart below together using a free ballistic calculator and I used the ballistic coefficient of the 77 SMK so I could be a bit off.  It only goes to 300 yards but I think you get the point.

This chart is just an example so obviously we would use a real 77 gr Nosler data and chart for actual testing.

Looking at the chart below we see the velocity starts to drop to the extreme fragmentation range between 225-275 yards.  

Here's my stupid question...  

If you are limited to a 100 yard range, is it possible to simulate the fragmentation effects of longer ranges by downloading the ammo to match the estimated velocity of the distances you want to test?

I.E.  Using the example data below, download a certain number of rounds to reach 2157 fps at 100 yards in order to shoot them into ballistic gel and average the results for fragmentation capability at 250 yards.  

Would this be a valid experiment?  Why or why not?

77 gr with BE .362 @ 2750 fps from a 16" barrel.

Yards/Velocity(FPS)/Energy (ft/lbs)/drop(inches)

25 /2682 /1229 /-.310

50 /2620 /1173 /+.964"

75 /2559 /1119 /+1.945"

100 /2498 /1066 +/2.627

125 /2439 /1017 /+2.963

150 /2380 /969 /+2.944

175 /2322 /922 /+2.535

200 /2264 /877 /+1.700

225 /2209 /834 /+.444

250 /2157 /795 /-1.175

275 /2098 /742 /-3.611

300 /2044 /714 /-6.434

Link Posted: 6/24/2003 8:56:46 PM EDT
[#1]
Yes it would be valid and you should do it at VERY short range instead of at 100 yards.  Why make it harder than it has to be?
Link Posted: 6/24/2003 10:08:40 PM EDT
[#2]
It would be valid. You should do it soon so you can tell me all about it.