Page AR-15 » Rimfire and Pistol Calibers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 1/15/2021 12:00:14 PM EDT
I'm new to this whole 9mm thing.

Here's what I have so far:

PSA Colt Mag block for AR15 lower

PSA Gen4 8 inch upper

SBPDW brace, sounds like they have a carbine length buffer tube(?)

Thank you for any help!
Link Posted: 1/15/2021 12:06:30 PM EDT
[#1]
I had a JP SCS on my 9mm build.  Really nice shooting.  

I would try one of their short stroke scs's if I made another.
Link Posted: 1/15/2021 3:17:00 PM EDT
[#2]
What is the weight of your bolt?  Total weight of buffer and bolt should be between 21 and 24 ounces.  I use a 6.5 ounce 9mm buffer with a 14.9 ounce Faxon bolt, standard carbine spring.  Runs like a swiss watch.
Link Posted: 1/15/2021 3:20:26 PM EDT
[#3]
SBPDW brace is a carbine length buffer tube.
So any 9mm buffer should work fine for you.
Link Posted: 1/16/2021 1:02:00 AM EDT
[#4]
A Macon Armory pistol buffer and standard carbine spring works great. Rudy has been doing these for a long time, and he has it down pretty well.
Link Posted: 1/16/2021 9:12:58 AM EDT
[#5]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
A Macon Armory pistol buffer and standard carbine spring works great. Rudy has been doing these for a long time, and he has it down pretty well.
View Quote

^^^ This.

Here is (almost) everything you need to know about building/troubleshooting a 9mm AR in one post: "Lots of 9mm AR information"
Link Posted: 1/17/2021 8:13:22 AM EDT
[#6]
My 9mm colt pattern AR is mostly Quartercircle 10 parts.  They recommended their adjustable buffer (weight can be changed from 5-11oz) and a sprinco RED spring. This setup has been extremely reliable and I’m very happy with it.  I was tempted to get the JP silent capture spring in 9mm because everybody says it smooths out direct blowback 9mm (I don’t think it’s that bad at all).