Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » Rimfire and Pistol Calibers
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 3/28/2006 3:43:19 PM EDT
Hello guys,

This may be a stupid question, but I'm just getting into the AR world, so please pardon my ignorance for a moment!  :)

Basically, I'm trying to build a .22LR AR-15 with the Bushmaster .22LR upper kit and a Stag Arms forged lower.  I'm going with the Bushy because it is close to a hundred dollars cheaper than the DPMS .22LR upper, and Bushmaster has pretty good quality from what I've read.  Now the Bushmaster upper is one of those Carbon 15 types, so will it work with a normal (read: cheap) Stag Arms forged lower?  Or do I have to drop the extra money for a DPMS upper?

Oh yeah: are there any good-quality .22LR uppers out there besides DPMS and Bushmaster?  I'm looking for a very reliable upper, since I'm not experienced with building/tuning guns and I'd like this to be as foolproof a build as possible.  I'm trying to get a "mil-spec" clone, with the A2 stock and the regular carry handle/iron sights (not an M4 or a flat-top).  I thought I remembered something about a CMP .22 rifle, but I can't recall the manufacturer.

Thanks!
--dbates

EDIT:  Here's the link for the Bushmaster upper: www.bushmaster.com/shopping/uppers/post-ban/az15846k.asp
Link Posted: 3/29/2006 7:45:51 PM EDT
[#1]
Sorry to burst your bubble, but I ordered my Bushie Carbon 15 .22LR upper in October 2005.

Still waiting - they are in the process of "redoing the molds" and will be using a different magazine.

I'll report back when they actually start shipping again.

In the meantime, I'm entertaining myself with a Ciener kit.  

Works great thus far for plinking.

But I'd prefer a dedicated setup of course.
Link Posted: 3/30/2006 4:08:35 PM EDT
[#2]
Hmmm. . . guess I'll have to go with DPMS then.  The Compass Lake Engineering uppers are just way too expensive. . .
Link Posted: 3/31/2006 5:27:05 AM EDT
[#3]