Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Pistols
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/19/2013 7:13:32 PM EDT
Hi. I am new to pistol building and welcome any advice I can get. I recently have developed a love for the AK. I  bought a Saiga and converted it. Now I am seriously thinking about an AR pistol in 7.62 x 39. Dont find much info know on these builds and read they are very problematic.

Are they problematic?

I dont see any manufactures that make pistol upper except Model 1. Never heard of them. Are they good quality?

Are they really that problematic that manufacturers dont want to even manufacture them?

Not much of a buffer weight expert but what buffer weight is needed for a pistol 7.62 x 39?

Any other thing I should know?

Much thanks in advanced.
Link Posted: 10/20/2013 6:31:50 AM EDT
[#1]
I built an AR pistol in 7.62 x 39 using a 7.5" PWS piston upper that runs flawlessly.  In fact, it is surprising how soft it shoots.  They key is in the mags.  ASC is the only one making them now that I know of.  A barrel any longer doesn't make sense if you're going to keep it as a pistol, perhaps so if you plan on going the SBR route later on.
Link Posted: 10/20/2013 8:51:57 AM EDT
[#2]
Good to hear. What buffer system are you using?
Link Posted: 10/23/2013 9:58:05 AM EDT
[#3]
The first one is 7.62 and the second one is 5.56, you can tell which one has a little more kick.

The only issue I have is the red dot takes some beating.

Link Posted: 10/23/2013 2:15:16 PM EDT
[#4]
I would also like to hear some specs on working x39 builds. I built a 10.3 inch .223 and plan on going for a 7.5 inch x39 for some fun.
Link Posted: 10/23/2013 3:30:04 PM EDT
[#5]
Here's my Frankinstein parts list

Marks Armory 7" barrel
DPMS Sportical slickside upper
DPMS Kitty Cat free float assy
DPMS lower parts kit
DPMS carrier with Midway 7.62 bolt
MS enhance firing pin
Midway AR Stoner 30 round mags, load just 20 to break them in