Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Variants
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 9/7/2005 8:04:15 AM EDT
Well, y'all know that I'm no newbie - to guns or to this board.  And I'm not new to .308s, either - I have an FAL, a "G3" clone, and several bolt-actions (heck, I've even got one of those French MAS .308s ).  But I've never had an M1A or a .308 AR, and one or the other will be my next new rifle (probably my Christmas present from my wife) after the SEBR - so please forgive my newbie-like questions here...

I've shot a "traditional" M1A and a basic AR-10 in the past and liked them both.  The M1A really appeals to me from the standpoint of aesthetics and history, but I am intimately familiar with operating ARs (the AR is my very favorite rifle platform - the unpcoming SEBR will be # 25 for me... ).  So I find myself really torn on this one and I don't want to exercise the "GET BOTH!" option - some of you may remember that I cut way back on the gun-buying recently...

So I'd like to hear from those of you with a strong preference for one platform over the other, and/or those with a strong preference for one brand of .308 AR over the others - what would you recommend and why?  I understand the magazine issue has been a deciding factor for some in .308 AR choice, but I don't really know what the differences/issues have been.  I know I'm probably asking things here that are well-covered territory (and I don't usually do that), but I'm hoping that some of you who know a little bit about me and are well-versed in this area can steer me in the right direction.

FWIW, I will probably choose something "short & tactical," whichever way I go - i.e., a Scout or SOCOM from the M1A family or a 16" CAR-ish .308 AR (I have plenty "long-range" rifles, in .308 and otherwise).

I am leaning slightly more in the AR direction, which is why I posted this here instead of over on the M1/M1A Forum.