Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/7/2021 10:54:07 PM EDT
So I was looking for a new AR barrel a couple months ago and ordered a Faxon Gunner Barrel. It finally came today and when I looked at the packaging, I saw .350 Legend on it. I clearly did not read the item description enough to see that it wasn't for .223/5.56 caliber.

I looked around and saw there is some compatibility between the two calibers. Hypothetically, would I be able to fire .223/5.56 through the .350 Legend barrel without any issues? Also, how would the gas system and a muzzle brake fit into this situation? Don't be too hard on me, I'm pretty new to the AR platform.

This is the specific barrel: https://faxonfirearms.com/faxon-12-5-gunner-profile-ar15-barrel-350-legend-nitrided/ (Yes I know it's <16" and I was going to complete a Form 1 before installing)
Link Posted: 1/7/2021 10:57:28 PM EDT
[#1]
Hypothetically, would I be able to fire .223/5.56 through the .350 Legend barrel without any issues?
View Quote

Oh HELL no, not hypothetically, theoretically nor metaphorically! They are different size bores, different sized chambers.  The only thing they can share is the bolt.
Link Posted: 1/7/2021 11:15:46 PM EDT
[#2]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:

Oh HELL no, not hypothetically, theoretically nor metaphorically! They are different size bores, different sized chambers.  The only thing they can share is the bolt.
View Quote

As said HELL NO - you'll be lucky to not end up in the ER.  Or worse.

As far as parts compatibility, everything but barrel and likely mags.
Link Posted: 1/7/2021 11:56:54 PM EDT
[#3]
So the case diameters and overall length of the .223/5.56 and .350 rounds (as well as  .300BLK) are pretty close, but bore and profiles are very different.

Here’s a picture that helps bring it into perspective:

Attachment Attached File

.300BLK.....350Legend....223