Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 6/14/2009 6:34:43 PM EDT
I'm looking to buy/build a 20" upper for mainly target shooting. I'll be using 68-77 grain target loads mainly, out to 300 yards at best. Some makers (I won't name who so I can stick to the topic) don't offer M4 feedramps with their A3 style (not A4 style) uppers, but they claim not to have any feeding problems with those heavier rounds. I have a Bushmaster A3 upper, originally ripped off of a V-match rifle, and it has never had any failures to feed with heavier rounds.

I guess I'm being anal, but I want to make sure I get a good solid set up, since these damn things cost anywhere between $1200-2000 for the upper alone (not including the scope).

Thanks
Link Posted: 6/14/2009 7:31:58 PM EDT
[#1]
IMO, no. If you are shooting full auto in a sbr, they may help. In semi-auto it's no big deal. I have them on my new 18" build because they came on the saber bbl. so I got a M-4 cut upper.
Link Posted: 6/14/2009 7:41:40 PM EDT
[#2]
With my long experience with 20" A1, A2, and A2 HBAR barreled rifles, in my opinion M4 feedramps are not really necessary.

Even LaRue Stealth uppers from LaRue all comes without extended feedramps so they probably also don't believe they're necessary.

Link Posted: 6/15/2009 6:14:48 AM EDT
[#3]
No one has shown any real evidence why the M4 feedramps were added, only seen some opinions/sketchy accounts, that it will help in situations of all the most extreme conditions in combination in the M4, i.e. full auto, heavy tipped rounds, worn magazines, Carbine Gas System, bad weather, etc all at the same time.

People have posted again and again they never suffered any problems using the standard feedramps in all sorts of configurations of AR's.