Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 4/14/2008 5:21:29 PM EDT
I have a bushmaster flattop carbine with the "dissipater" 12"+- plastic handguards. When I was super-nooby I bought this as my first and only SHTF/HD AR and thought the longer handguards looked cool...heavy
Being this is a more unusual barrel/handguard system, what are my options?

My noob thoughts are; to knock out both of these issues at the same time my best/most cost effective action is to install sometype of FF or non-FF rail that covers right up to or just over the gas block. I really want something that is:

A)Shorter than my current 12" handguards
B)Rock solid and lightweight with rails (ff or non-ff as long as it's solid)
C)Will allow my eotech 512 to be moved forward several inches

I would love for it to be something I could do myself and not cost a fortune. I've looked into the Omega rails and it seems they all have to go right up to the handguard cap and are a little pricey. I wouldn't mind getting a midrange priced FF tube/rail and paying $60 or so to have it put on somewhere if that's even possible...I'd like to spend less than $200 even though I know BRD has a $300 minimum on ANYTHING....

Pics of my current set-up:
http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj173/talkischeap45/ARwHandgd.jpg
http://i272.photobucket.com/albums/jj173/talkischeap45/HandgrdDisassemled.jpg
Link Posted: 4/14/2008 5:29:28 PM EDT
[#1]
I like Midwest Industries free-float for a simple do it yourself upgrade.  Simple to install and I have always found them to be rock solid.  I get mine from Bravo Company.

Voodoo
Link Posted: 4/14/2008 5:53:04 PM EDT
[#2]
Troy?

Edit to add:

Looks like Voodoo13 might have the winner for you price wise.
Link Posted: 4/14/2008 6:13:17 PM EDT
[#3]