Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 8/17/2005 6:49:19 PM EDT
Okay,  this is going to be a really stupid question (there, the disclaimer is out of the way) but I have ZERO experience with rail type handguards as all of the Colt A2s I've shot have had the stock plastic handguards.  

I only plan semi-auto use, but when plinking away with a 30 round clip, I'd guess that a rail type aluminum handguard can get pretty warm; to the point of having to have gloves.  Is that correct?  (I'm assuming so since I see so many of the rail system equipped rigs with either hand pads or pistol grips).

Thanks for answering this newbie question.

****EDITED TO ASK**** Some systems seem to use a 'rubber ladder', does this keep your hand from cooking?  Many don't seem to be able to use this ladder though.  Will they only work on certain styles of rail?

Sean
Link Posted: 8/17/2005 10:25:49 PM EDT
[#1]
After several 30 round magazines of full auto the barrel nut gets so hot it will blister felsh on contact.  The rail is vary warm but not to the point of pain.  With a rail cover of any type you cant tell its even warm.  Any rail can use Magpul ladder panels.  I only use them for top rails and use Magpul XT panels or KAC panels on the sides and bottom.  I hate ladder panles on the bottom and sides as they dont give enough surface area to feel normal.
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 3:56:09 AM EDT
[#2]
i have tango down and magpul panels on mine and they get warm to the touch.

i have learned that metal gets hot and will burn if touched so i usually dont touch bare metal anymore
Link Posted: 8/18/2005 4:04:45 AM EDT
[#3]