Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/19/2004 9:48:31 AM EDT
Being a newbie, I'm confused about the entire chrome-lined barrel thing. As I understand it, "chrome-moly" barrels aren't "chrome-lined", correct? Also, looking at Model1Sales web page, you can buy kits with chrome-moly barrels or pay more and get kits that have "chrome lined chambers and bores". Does this mean that the actual barrel is chrome-lined? Or just the chamber and bore (the bore being just the mouth of the barrel? Or does "bore" mean the entire inside barrel surface?). I simply want a "chrome-lined barrel" just like the military has on their barrels to extend barrel life. Please explain all this to me.  
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 10:03:59 AM EDT
[#1]
Yes, chrome-moly and chrome-lined are two different things. The chamber is where the round fits in, the bore is the actual rifled part of the barrel that the bullet travel through upon firing. Chrome-lined barrels are a lot easier to clean.
Link Posted: 9/19/2004 10:26:18 AM EDT
[#2]
"Chrome-moly" means a plain old steel barrel.  Some vendors use this terminology sloppily and are trying to be just a little misleading, IMO.

If you want a standard 5.56 NATO chambered military-type barrel, chrome-lined-from-chamber-to-muzzle, start looking at Bushmaster barrels.  They really are the best game in town for these types of barrels.  Fantastic quality and wide selection of barrel profiles and lengths.

Someone will eventually chime in to tell you chrome-lined barrels are less accurate.  The accuracy difference is barely significant.  A chrome-lined barrel is more accurate than the abilities of most shooters and can still do 1 MOA with the right ammunition.  If this rifle is intended to be used as a weapon, chrome-lined 5.56 is the best way to go...  many will say the ONLY way to go.

Link Posted: 9/19/2004 11:33:40 AM EDT
[#3]
>>"..chrome-lined from chamber to muzzle"