Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 9/8/2003 9:52:37 PM EDT
I was told by a friend this evening that Colt barrels sometimes won't work with upper receivers unless its Colt.Although I am far from an expert but this soounds like complete B.S. to me.

Would any of you guys mind 'splainin for my friends benefit? If anyone has had a bad experience with a Colt barrel I would like to know. I was planning on selling a barrel to him when he brought this up.

THX

Link Posted: 9/8/2003 10:09:11 PM EDT
[#1]
I don't think that is true- I have a Colt Pre-Ban which I put a Bushmaster M4 barrel on it, then sold my Colt 1/7 20" to a guy who put it on something else (Sendra maybe) and has had no problems that I know of. My Colt has never had any problems since the Bushmaster barrel was installed- eats Russian Laquer cased .223 like candy. Now some 2,000 rounds of the Russian greenies later it still has yet to jam- once again another myth, Russian ammo screws up your gun, yah right.  
Link Posted: 9/8/2003 10:38:14 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
I was told by a friend this evening that Colt barrels sometimes won't work with upper receivers unless its Colt.Although I am far from an expert but this soounds like complete B.S. to me.
View Quote

You sir, are correct, that IS B.S., unless the receiver is a really wacky non-milspec upper.  I don't know of any that bad...
Link Posted: 9/9/2003 4:49:21 AM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
I was told by a friend this evening that Colt barrels sometimes won't work with upper receivers unless its Colt.
View Quote

Depends,