Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 6/23/2003 5:16:14 PM EDT
im a newbie, gotta newbie question, please be gentle,ummmmm what is an A2 sleeve,is that like a fake flash suppressor?
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 6:09:00 PM EDT
[#1]
Yes, the Rock River M4 barrels come with an A2 style , fake flash suppressor "sleeve", pressed over the end of the 16" barrel to make it look like a 14.5" barrel.
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 6:30:01 PM EDT
[#2]
Quoted:
pressed over the end of the 16" barrel to make it look like a 14.5" barrel.
View Quote

thanks for your help,just a few more questions

explain "pressed over".
Are you saying that the barrel is not 16in + the length of the sleeve. that its actually 16in including the sleeve.and can this sleeve be removed to put on a muzzle brake.
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 6:49:19 PM EDT
[#3]
The barrel is 16".  The sleeve is pressed over the end of the barrel to imitate the look of a 14.5" with a flash suppressor.  I've heard the sleeves are difficult to remove, but a competent smith should be able to do so.

Per the post below, here is the pic from Pete's ad:

[img]http://image1ex.villagephotos.com/pubimage.asp?id_=193258[/img]
Link Posted: 6/23/2003 6:58:03 PM EDT
[#4]
Go to Equipment Exchange and look for post by Legal Transfers (Pete) and RRA barrels.  He's got a good picture of the muzzle end with the pressed on A2 sleeve.
Link Posted: 6/24/2003 1:51:30 AM EDT
[#5]
You will not be able to remove the pressed on sleve and add a muzzle devise later.  If you want to do that get a regular 16" and have it threaded.
Link Posted: 6/24/2003 5:08:27 AM EDT
[#6]
thanks for your help guys.
i'm actually getting an RRA m4 barrel from pete legal transfer.

are there any real draw backs from the sleeve,aside from it not being able to be removed?
Link Posted: 6/24/2003 5:52:34 AM EDT
[#7]