Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 1/7/2003 7:51:49 PM EDT
I have a Bushmaster varmint upper, it does not like military type ammo, has anyone tried a RRA Varmint upper? I know with these types of barrels I should be reloading for it. But I just don't want to, I reload for everything else. I was hoping to find a heavy barreled, varmint type upper that also liked the military ammo. Any experiences to share?
Link Posted: 1/8/2003 5:02:49 AM EDT
[#1]
Sorry, don't have any answers, but I would like to know of a good military ammo-digesting varmint upper as well.  Kind of takes the fun out of it if you have to reload or spend $1.00 a shot to get accuracy.  Anyone?
Link Posted: 1/8/2003 5:11:23 AM EDT
[#2]
What doesn't your rifle like about milspec ammo?  What specifically happens or doesn't happen?

Talk to Bushmaster, they may be able to cut a M16 chamber into your barrel.  If the chamber is currently undersized and rough you'll have stoppages.  Polishing the chamber may be needed.  

If you want reliable operation the rifle should be cleaned and lubricated to dash-10 standards regardless of the barrel on it.

-- Chuck
Link Posted: 1/8/2003 5:27:23 AM EDT
[#3]
Oh, Sorry, I was not specific ... It shoots all ammo very reliably, its just not very accurate. I wish I could just throw the same stuff that shoots into 3/4" to 1" groups in my other Ar15's and have it shoot AT LEAST as well in my varminter! My varminter wont shoot that ammo under a 2.5" to 3" group at 100yds. I am going to try some SS109's, maybe the heavier bullets will shoot better.
Link Posted: 1/8/2003 6:25:45 AM EDT
[#4]
I believe the Bushy varminter normally has a 1-in-9 twist and the 62 gr SS109 might work better than 55's.  However, it also has a match chamber and heavy DCM type barrel that may not be chrome plated and may be a bit more finicky on bullet selection.