Warning

Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Posted: 12/30/2002 4:04:46 PM EDT
How big of a problem is leading in the barrel if I where to get one of those conversion kits that just replaces the bolt and carrier? I have a 20" Bushmaster (Chrome Lined Barrel and Chamber). Do I need to scrub the barrel after shooting 22LR or will any lead in the barrel get cleaned out with a few .223's through the barrel?

Thanks
Link Posted: 1/1/2003 5:16:07 AM EDT
[#1]
DO NOT SHOOT IT BEFORE CLEANING.  Sorry for the shouting.  It will really lead your barrel and the chamber collects a large amount of fouling too.  These kits really make a rifle dirty.  But, on a positive note, the fouling/leading from the rimfire ammunition is pretty easy to clean out. It can be cleaned with just a few patches and a couple of passes with a bore brush.

5.56 ammunition is loaded pretty hot and shooting some with a fouled chamber or leaded barrel will send the pressures up.  Plus, any debris in the chamber is now baked and pressed on at about 60,000psi.

Link Posted: 1/1/2003 8:01:59 AM EDT
[#2]