Close

Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Site Notices
Posted: 11/11/2002 12:33:25 PM EDT
Hello, I need help with my new rifle. I recently bought an olympic arms m4gery. I took the rifle to the range and my excitement turned to disappointment. The rifle experienced multiple jams. It appears that the tip of the bullets were sometimes getting jammed at the base of the m4 feed ramps. The upper and lower had a tight fit and the only thing i found unusual was the tight fit of the magazine into the magazine well.
Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. I have a bushmaster shorty ak and I rarely have a jam. However having invested money into this rifle I dont want to give up on it yet.
Link Posted: 11/11/2002 1:20:05 PM EDT
[#1]
Are u shooting with the same magazines in each gun? It may be a bad magazine that is pushing your rounds south a little and they are hanging up on the feed ramps.

I have experienced this with some old worn out mags. Try bending the mag feed lips a little up?

mzzlebrk
Link Posted: 11/11/2002 2:40:25 PM EDT
[#2]
In addition to your magazine we need to know what kind of ammunition you are using.  Is the bullet catching at the bottom edge of the feed ramp or is it actually touching the middle of the feed ramp?
Link Posted: 11/11/2002 4:13:15 PM EDT
[#3]
I have that problem with a few mags i have that have black followers. I'm thinking of getting some green ones and new sprins to see if it fixes them.
GlenR-
Link Posted: 11/11/2002 4:39:06 PM EDT
[#4]
I have used the same magazines in the bushmaster and I have not had that many failures to feed. However, some of my magazines are old and I am going to replace the springs and followers. The bullets appear to be getting caught at what I would call the base of the ramp (not the slope). Thanks for your help. I am using surplus ammo 55 grn. FMJ (I believe south african).
Link Posted: 11/12/2002 6:01:31 AM EDT
[#5]