Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 10/27/2013 12:02:08 PM EDT
I'm new to the AR world and to this board.  From what I've seen there seem to be a lot of well informed people here.  I just bough my first AR - a DPMS Recon. The rifle was bought new and my first time out I ran about 100-150 rounds through it.  I could not get the rifle to cycle properly.  Almost every round had to be chambered manually with the charging handle. I used the steel mag that came it and a couple of new P-mags with .223 and 5.56 rounds..  Same issue with each mag.  Disappointed, I took it home and cleaned it.  I also checked this site and others finding that it may be a lubrication issue or buffer tube spring.  Liberally lubing it and leaving everything else unchanged I went back to the range and bought a different brand of ammo hoping to eliminate the problem.  The first round fired but it did not chamber the next round.  I manually charged the next round and out of 40 rounds fired, I had two more cycling issues.  The rifle would either not pick-up the next round or it would pick-up the round but it would not feed into chamber.  The rounds that would not chamber would be sitting at an angle.  The guy next to me at the range had a DPMS as well.  He had not experienced the cycling issues but he did change his buffer spring after only 20 rounds.  Any help would be appreciated.
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 12:10:18 PM EDT
[#1]
If it was bought new, send it back and make them address the issue.
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 1:14:04 PM EDT
[#2]
Just for giggles,  what ammo was used?
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 2:19:25 PM EDT
[#3]
post in their forum in Industry..They are great guys and will see you through your problems.
Link Posted: 10/27/2013 3:33:21 PM EDT
[#4]
Discussion ForumsJump to Quoted PostQuote History
Quoted:
Just for giggles,  what ammo was used?
View Quote