Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 8/19/2012 5:11:45 PM EDT
I am looking for a new AR15 in 5.56 I just sold a dpms and I am now wanting a spikes I think from everything I have been reading they are unbeatable for the price. The question I have is where the heck can I get one every site I have tried to go to they are out of stock. I did find them on DSG and I can buy a upper and lower seperately. I am still a little new to all this so another question is are these upper and lowers ready to be put together and head to the range or do I gotta buy more stuff to just go shoot it. Last question is whats the difference in the 16" mid-length upper and the 16" carbine upper. These may be dumb questions but I figure most of yall know lot more than me any info will be helpfull BTW im looking to spend less than $900.
Link Posted: 8/19/2012 5:44:22 PM EDT
[#1]
Check AIM Surplus and Joe Bob Outfitters.
Link Posted: 8/19/2012 5:52:58 PM EDT
[#2]
Midlength is a longer gas system than a carbine gas system and midlength gas system is more of a correct length for a 16" barrel. A carbine gas system is more suited for barrel lengths under 14.5". Other benefits of a midlength gas system is a longer sight radius if using a FSB and supposedly smoother felt recoil.
Link Posted: 8/19/2012 6:00:36 PM EDT
[#3]
To answer your other question, yes they should snap together and be ready to shoot. Make sure that your upper comes with a BCG (bolt carrier group) and charging handle. In some packages they are sold separately. I'm not sure which upper you're looking at, but you may need sights as well.

One more thing, the lower is considered the actual rifle, so you will need that part shipped to a FFL. The upper can be shipped right to your door.

Spikes is good stuff from the few I've handled. PSA is also another high quality brand in that price range. I'd feel comfortable with either.

Konger.