Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 5/1/2011 5:16:31 PM EDT
I recently purchased a brand new Young Manufacturing National Match Chromed M16 BCG. Upon receiving the BCG, I went to take it apart to inspect and lube it before I put it in my rifle. While disassembling it, I noticed rotating the cam pin was unusually difficult. Once I got the cam pin rotated and in the rearward position, I couldn't pull it out of the carrier.

I ended up wrapping some electrical tape around a pair of needle nose pliers to get the cam pin out. It cleared the gas key fine; It was just a really tight fit in the bolt.

I've had a lot of experience with AR's and I've never had a cam pin this difficult to remove. I'm just thinking maybe the BCG is out of spec. I'm going to call Y/M tomorrow, but I wanted to see if anyone had similar experiences. And yes, the firing pin was removed, don't even ask.
Link Posted: 5/1/2011 6:42:10 PM EDT
[#1]
I've never had a new bcg where it wasn't difficult to take the cam out. It will loosen up with use, I don't think there is a problem here.
Link Posted: 5/1/2011 6:50:06 PM EDT
[#2]
How does it shoot?
Link Posted: 5/1/2011 7:44:53 PM EDT
[#3]
Quoted:
I recently purchased a brand new Young Manufacturing National Match Chromed M16 BCG. Upon receiving the BCG, I went to take it apart to inspect and lube it before I put it in my rifle. While disassembling it, I noticed rotating the cam pin was unusually difficult. Once I got the cam pin rotated and in the rearward position, I couldn't pull it out of the carrier.

I ended up wrapping some electrical tape around a pair of needle nose pliers to get the cam pin out. It cleared the gas key fine; It was just a really tight fit in the bolt.