Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 4/12/2010 8:42:08 AM EDT
I have a Bushmaster fixed handle AR with 11.5inch barrel with 5 inch flash hider.
I want to put atleast a 16inch barrel on this gun.I dont know a whole lot about twist rate and crome lining and whatnot
The barrel i have now is chrome lined.This gun will not be used for competition or shooting quarters at a 100 yards.It will probably get around 1000-2500 rounds through it a year.
I would like just a standard M4 barrel,but like i said im unsure of the twist rate,and if i have to have chrome lining.Im only shooting basic factory loaded federal 55 grain bullits
Every other gun i have had has never had a chrome lined bore and they are fine,is their pro's and con's for this?I know the barrel now is very easy to clean
Is their a paticular brand of barrel you guys could recommend?
Im looking for a fairly priced barrel,does not have to be the best thing on the market,just has to get the job done
It is possible i might be changing the upper to a flattop,but im not sure about that just yet
Thanks for any info
Link Posted: 4/12/2010 8:44:25 AM EDT
[#1]
get a 1/7 twist and chrome lined. BCM, Daniel Defense, Noveske, Sabre, White Oak are all top tier companies.
Link Posted: 4/12/2010 8:53:24 AM EDT
[#2]
Chrome lining is a form of protection for the barrel in the event that cleaning it after use (combat, specifically) may not not be an option.  Or at least that's what it was originally designed to do.  That's one of the reasons why you won't see it on other, non-combat rifles.  I'm very diligent about cleaning my guns, but I still wouldn't get a carbine without a chrome-lined barrel.  It just makes sense, like car insurance.  You don't need it every day, but it's nice to know it's there.