Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 9/19/2009 1:26:56 PM EDT
I just picked up a RRA mid-length upper at a gun show on the assumption it is 5.56. But the paperwork says 6.8 SPC.        WTF???

I have no experience with 6.8 SPC, but I slipped a spent round of 5.56 in the chamber and it fit snug enough I had to push it out with a cleaning rod. There's no way 5.56 brass should chamber snugly in a 6.8 chamber ... right?

Like I said - no snickering allowed. There are no markings on the barrel or upper except the Cerro keyhole, and nothing under the handguards except a funky little punch mark that looks like "MK". Wouldn't a 6.8 upper be marked as such?

Reassure me, lads.

Link Posted: 9/19/2009 1:31:56 PM EDT
[#1]
Go buy a box of 6.8 and see if it fits
Link Posted: 9/19/2009 1:34:10 PM EDT
[#2]
There should be engraving on the barrel telling you exactly what type of round it was made for...
Link Posted: 9/19/2009 1:34:58 PM EDT
[#3]
Pull the bolt carrier group.  Place a cartridge against the bolt.  If the 5.56/223 is smaller than the recess in the bolt face... it probably is a 6.8.

Link Posted: 9/19/2009 1:52:49 PM EDT
[#4]
Sounds like someone used the 6.8 lower to build a 5.56 (if that's what it turns out to be).

The lower is logged on the 4473 according to the upper it wears when it is sold. If it was later rebuilt as a 5.56, there would be no record of it.

Link Posted: 9/19/2009 1:58:19 PM EDT
[#5]
check your 5.56 ammo against the boltface. If the boltface is larger than the ammo your in trouble
Link Posted: 9/19/2009 2:02:12 PM EDT
[#6]
Quoted:
There should be engraving on the barrel telling you exactly what type of round it was made for...

Not. Like I said, I even pulled the handguards and it's not marked. But neither was the other RRA I had, and it was a factory rifle.

Link Posted: 9/19/2009 2:03:09 PM EDT
[#7]
Quoted: