Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/28/2008 5:42:03 PM EDT
Hello all, new member here.

Been reading your sight off and on for the last eight years or so. Spent most of my time over on Jouster while I was competing in high power( one of the few that actually still used a Garand) Kids got into little league; cubscouts and boyscouts......so competive shooting went to the wayside.....temporarily I hope. Now I help my sons BSA troop with their marksmanship MB's (I'm a certified NRA Pistol Instructor and hope to finish rifle and shotgun in December). Thats enough about me....now on to my post.

Just bought a DPMS Low Pro Classic. This is the second AR-15 rifle I have owned. The first was a Colt sporter HBAR "green label"....wish I had never sold that gem.

Took it out yesterday and sighted her in......man was I impressed. Shoots very tight groups for a 16" barrel.

additions and mods I've made:

Pardus 6 position stock

YHM flip up front and rear BUIS

YHM 6 inch cantilever 1/2" riser

Burris 1.5x scout scope

I will be adding a set of YHM 45 deg 3-slot dovetails; spec gear sling; tac light and a laser sight.

I am at work tonight; but will post pics tomorrow. Once fully rigged she'll a great piece of Obama insurance

One question.....I am thinking of adding a forearm grip; but the Low Pro uses the DPMS "Glacier" forearm set. Any of you out there have any experience modifing it by adding a rail on the underside?  A rail would be nice; but I want to be careful and not damage it due to the "fins" molded on the inside.

Thanks in advance.....great Forum!

Force
Link Posted: 11/28/2008 5:52:18 PM EDT
[#1]
Welcome aboard, sounds like a nice rig you bought! Funny you should mention Garands, I just got this one in yesterday from CMP, it's their M1 Special, CMP run of a 1000, new barrel, stock, reparked

Link Posted: 11/28/2008 5:58:07 PM EDT
[#2]