Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/19/2008 7:10:46 AM EDT
I purchased a DEL-TON 16 .223 and I have been looking through just about every AR sight there is.  My question is what are the best parts to use to upgrade this baby  to be the best tactical AR for me.  I am a newb at this and I will take all the info and knowledge I can.
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 7:19:18 AM EDT
[#1]
What are you going to do with it?  Is it a flattop upper or an A2 configuration?

Home defense?  You need a method to attach a flashlight and a reddot sight (IMO) of some sort.  A sling will help out considerably as well.  Railed forearms run the gamut from $50 airsoft junk to $350+ Daniel Defense or LaRue.

Plinking at the range? buy mags and ammo.  A spare bolt wouldn't be a bad thing to have.

If you purchased a flattop; are you going to use optics or strictly sights?  Optics? you're going to need a rear sight.  I prefer flip up sights under a scope, fixed sights behind an eotech/aimpoint/reddot.

What you need depends heavily on what you intend to do with it.

ETA: Search "rails", "foreends", "BUIS", "flip rear sight", "aimpoint", "eotech", "reddot" and any combination thereof for your answers.
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 8:23:43 AM EDT
[#2]
I want it as a multipurpose weapon home defense/range/tactical.  I don't want to limit myself.
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 9:17:06 AM EDT
[#3]
lots of tacked threads that deal with rails, optics and such.

browse the site more and ask specific questions.

best parts to use to upgrade this baby to be the best tactical AR for me

short answer
DD or larue rail system
aimpoint, eotech, or acog
larue mounts for the above optics
magpul stock
slings im not too sure about
surefire light
Link Posted: 11/19/2008 11:35:30 AM EDT
[#4]
Quoted:
I want it as a multipurpose weapon home defense/range/tactical.  I don't want to limit myself.