Confirm Action

Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Posted: 1/3/2007 10:50:52 AM EDT
ok i am wondering what is the purpose of the gas tube on the ar15?

yes i am a newbie
yes i did use the search box and came up empty
yes i am thankful for all your views

thanks all!
Link Posted: 1/3/2007 11:00:49 AM EDT
[#1]

Quoted:
ok i am wondering what is the purpose of the gas tube on the ar15?

yes i am a newbie
yes i did use the search box and came up empty
yes i am thankful for all your views

thanks all!

The gas tube is integral to the operation of the AR15.  It takes gases from a port under the front sight base and channels them back into the upper receiver, where they act on the bolt carrier to eject the spent round.

ETA: More specifically they act on the gas key, which is part of the bolt carrier.
Link Posted: 1/3/2007 11:36:36 AM EDT
[#2]
Link Posted: 1/3/2007 12:14:09 PM EDT
[#3]

Underneath the gas block/front sight base there is a hole drilled through the barrel to the bore.  This is called the gas port.  

When a cartrdge is fired, the expanding gases push the bullet down the barrel and as the base of the bullet pases by the gas port, some of the expanding gases are directed up through the gas port.

Directly above the gas port of the barrel, there is a corresponding port in the gas block/front sight base.  The expanding gases travel up through this port to the gas tube.

Upon reaching the gas tube, the gases are channeled into the corresponding port in the gas tube and then flow rearward through the gas tube to the upper receiver.

Inside the upper receiver the gas tube connects with the gas key of the bolt carrier and the gases drive the bolt carrier to the rear thereby cycling the action of the rifle.

Link Posted: 1/3/2007 12:25:03 PM EDT
[#4]
nice pics MOLON...very well illustrated
Link Posted: 1/3/2007 12:31:26 PM EDT
[#5]
Link Posted: 1/3/2007 12:34:22 PM EDT
[#6]