Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 11/2/2006 4:02:51 PM EDT
I'm a Noob to black rifles.  Been lurking around this site for a while, read all the pages as far back as I could...

Anyways here is my delima.
I have an opportunity to buy a lightly used (around 500 rounds) Colt A2 with a 20" bbl made in 1999 for $700.

The Colt needs a trigger job

I'd like a flattop upper, my plan is to use it for long range/varmint shooting.
And scoping the A2 handle doesn't appeal to me

Is the Colt worth buying and using it as a platform for what I want, or will I be better off just buying a RRA varmint..

And I know $700 is a good deal on a Colt.
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:05:12 PM EDT
[#1]
Buy the Colt, sell the upper on the EE, get the upper you want.
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:13:29 PM EDT
[#2]

Quoted:
Buy the Colt, sell the upper on the EE, get the upper you want.

+1.  Do it now.
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:23:07 PM EDT
[#3]
Buy it!
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:40:51 PM EDT
[#4]
Will I have to get a complete upper assembly or can I get a stripped upper and use(most of) the Colt parts...

Thanks
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:48:48 PM EDT
[#5]
the quickest turnaround would be to sell the complete upper then get another complete one for yourself. this Colt, small pin, large pin?
Midwinter

oh, welcome aboard1
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:53:34 PM EDT
[#6]
Welcome on board!   BUY IT!!!!!! NOW!!!
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 4:57:07 PM EDT
[#7]

Quoted:
Will I have to get a complete upper assembly or can I get a stripped upper and use(most of) the Colt parts...

Thanks

An upper doesn't really have many parts.  Barrel nuts, gas tubes are pretty much all the same.  If you wanted to keep the Colt barrel you could, but you might want a different profile or material for your shooting needs.  It would be more cost effective to just sell the upper as complete.
Link Posted: 11/2/2006 6:13:26 PM EDT
[#8]