Are you sure you wish to do this?

Confirm Cancel
BCM
User Panel

Page AR-15 » AR Discussions
AR Sponsor: bravocompany
Site Notices
Posted: 4/13/2006 1:09:04 PM EDT
What kind of failure have you had with your ARs and what were the causes?

I have 4 ARs in the safe now, and I have 2 more on the way. I have owned 4 others which I have traded away (I am a notorious horse trader). Of the ARs that I have, I only have one which I have never fired (scheduled for this Saturday). Of the others here is a list of problems that I have had:

1. Post Ban Bushmaster A3/AK break (traded): No failures. This gun worked flawlessly for over 3,000 rounds before I traded it. Hindsight:

2. No Ban Bushmaster M4 type (traded): No failures. I only put about 100 rounds through this one before I traded it. Didn't like the 6 pos telestock or the 14.5" barrel.

3. M4 build on an RRA lower: 2 failures. First the rubber stopper on the carbine buffer came out because it was not secured by a roll pin (this also caused the insert in the buffer to come out, making it impossible to cycle the action) and second gun was failing to extract due to fact that the insert for the extractor spring was missing. I replaced the buffer with a buffer that has the rubber stopper secured by a roll pin and I replaced the extractor spring. I fired another 60 rounds (before the range closed) and the gun did not have another problem.

4. A2 carbine on an RRA Lower with an FN refurbished upper (traded): 1 failure due to carrier key coming loose on a brand new bolt carrier. This was when I learned about staking the carrier keys.

5. A2 carbine on an Oly Lower with a Tromix upper: 1 failure to to the carrier key coming loose on a STAKED carrier. The bolt was a Colt bolt and the carrier key was staked. It still came loose though, so I replaced the bolt carrier. Need to retest.

6. Colt SP1 (traded): Got it in a trade and never fired it. I hear it is doing well with it's new owner though.